About Us

The Retired Civil and Public Servants Association was founded in 1945. Membership is open to all retired Civil Servants and Public Servants, including P & T members from An Post, eircom/eir, Irish Aviation Authority, Coillte, Teagasc and professional groups approved in accordance with the Rules. This includes widowed persons in receipt of a public service pension.
Application FormPriorities set in 2019

What we do

Our mission is to defend and promote the interests of members. To do this effectively, we want to include as many retired colleagues in our membership as possible.

How we do this

We engage directly with Government representatives and Government Departments, making approaches and submissions on relevant issues, including annual pre-Budget submissions.  We are affiliated to the Alliance of Retired Public Servants.  We engage with the Alliance, and with other organisations representing retired public servants, to fight for pension restoration and improved services for members.  We are working to improve communications and enhance the position of the Association and its members.


We are governed by a Council comprising 4 Officers and not less than 10 other members. We hold An Annual General Meeting each May to decide policy and elect the Council. There are Branches in Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kildare, Limerick, Mayo, Midlands, North-East, Sligo, Wexford and a Branch for Teagasc pensioners.  Each Branch holds an Annual meeting.  We inform members on issues of interest by means of our Newsletters, our web site, www.rcpsa.ie and through local Branches.  Some Branches provide a social function valued by many members.

National Council


PresidentPaul Monks (Dublin)
Vice PresidentStephen Burns (Mayo)
SecretaryAnn Walsh (Cork)
TreasurerAnne Mitchell (Galway)

Standing Orders Committee

Peter DockeryDublin Branch
Joe O’DonnellSligo Branch
Frank O DwyerDublin Branch


Mary FarrellNorth West
Brian McDonnellDublin
Frank O’DwyerDublin
Matthew RyanMidlands


Committee Members


John BradyNorth East
Brian CadoganLimerick
Moya CarrDonegal/North West
Michael CushionTeagasc
Shane DonnellySligo
Benny DunneMidlands
Brian FitzpatrickDublin
Geraldine Burke GearyGalway
Louie GlancyDublin
Kevin GreeneKildare
Mick KearneyLimerick
Kevin MolloyWexford
Nora O’DonovanCork
Gerry QuinlanTeagasc
Cloda RyanDublin (Executive Asst)
Breda RyderDublin